Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

Paypal payments logo

Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

Glamour Girls

Members: MC Glamorous, Sweet Tee, Sin Ski

The Glamour Girls was a female trio from New York consisting of MC Glamorous (Jo Ann Berry / Jamillah Abdul-Kareem) from Long Island; Sin Ski from Brooklyn; and Sweet Tee (Toi Jackson) from Queens.

MC Glamorous won 1st place in a rap contest and was invited by Sweet Tee to perform at her birthday party. They spent the weekend together and visited Coney Island where she met Sin Ski and was also introduced to Tony D (Anthony Dick) from the group, Bad Boys. The girls bonded straight away and with input from Tony D, the Glamour Girls were born.

Their only release as a group was Oh! Veronica in 1986 on Pop Art Records which also featured beatboxing from labelmate, MC Craig G (Craig Curry). The track was a reply to the Bad Boys’ Veronica.

MC Glamorous was an original member of Marley Marl’s Juice Crew and featured on their debut release, Evolution / Juice Crew All Stars, released on Cold Chillin’ in 1987. The following year she also released her only solo record to date, the highly in-demand Good To Go released on Prism with production by Dwight Mitchell and Carlos Savory aka Prince Unique from the group, CDIII.

Sweet Tee signed to Profile Records, releasing her debut, It’s My Beat together with Jazzy Joyce. A handful of singles followed, including the classic I Got Da Feelin’ / It’s Like That Y’all in 1987 which both featured in her debut album, It’s Tee Time, in 1988.

Sin Ski quit rapping and focused on her religion.

Look out for the forthcoming book from MC Glamorous in which she’ll be going into much more depth regarding her career, Juice Crew and more.

Oh! Veronica

Label: Pop Art Records
Year: 1986
Format: 12″
Origin: US

Side A

  1. Oh! Veronica (Radio Bersion) [4:41]
  2. Oh! Veronica (Beat Box) [3:40]

Side B

  1. Oh! Veronica (Long Version) [4:49]
  2. Oh! Veronica (Instrumental) [4:49]