Hip Hop Be Bop


Hip Hop Be Bop

Pieces Of A Dream

Members: James Lloyd, Cedric Napoleon, Curtis Harmon

Pieces Of A Dream are a jazz fusion group originating from Philadelphia. The trio of James Lloyd, Cedric Napoleon and Curtis Harmon were discovered by legendary jazz musician, Grover Washington Jr.,  who went on to produce the group’s first three albums.

Following a successful debut album release for Elektra, the group released Mt. Airy Groove, the lead single from their sophomore album, We Are One, in 1982, elements of which were used most notably for the track It’s A Shame (Mt. Airy Groove) recorded by Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five. The track was originally released as a 7″ single in its original instrumental form but with the rise of rap music at the time and keeping with the current trend, it was remixed with added rap vocals by the group themselves.

The group eventually parted ways with Cedric but went on to release numerous albums and have been extremely successful and with additional members, at the time of writing, are still performing today.

There are a few variations for this release: a promo only release which only includes instrumental versions, a standard release with the G-Man logo at the bottom, a variation with the G-Man logo to the side, and an unofficial release with no G-Man logo.

Image showing the group

Mt. Airy Groove

Label: Elektra
Year: 1982
Format: 12″ Promo only
Origin: US

Side A

  1. Mt. Airy Groove [5:55]

Side B

  1. Mt. Airy Groove [5:15]

Notes: Although not stated on the label, these are both instrumental versions.