Hip Hop Be Bop

Ultramagnetic MC’s – Critical Beatdown (2xLP Yellow Vinyl Reissue) [Music On Vinyl 2021]


Ultramagnetic MC’s classic 1988 album, ‘Critical Beatdown’, gets the reissue treatment courtesy of Music On Vinyl on double 180gm yellow vinyl including 6 bonus tracks.

New York Hip Hop revolutionaries Ced-Gee, Kool Keith, Moe Luv and T.R. Love, known as Ultramagnetic Mc’s dropped their seminal debut album Critical Beatdown in 1988. Immediately grabbing the attention and pushing the boundaries of hip hop into new horizons, it was hailed as a masterpiece by the underground. Influential hip hop magazines The Source and Hip Hop Connection both listed Critical Beatdown in their Top 100 charts, naming it one of the best 100 hip hop albums ever. The 1986 single “Ego Trippin” is one of the first tracks to use the SP1200 drum machine (programmed by producer Ced-Gee), and the SP1200 would later become the golden standard for many hip hop producers. This expanded edition features not only the original album with the 15 tracks, it also includes 6 bonus tracks: the original 12” versions of “Funky”, “Bait”, “A Chorus Line” featuring Tim Dog, “Mentally Mad” plus “Traveling At The Speed Of Thought (Hip House Club Mix)” and “Ego Trippin (Bonus Beats)” coupled for the first time ever on vinyl. It also contains a 4 page booklet with interviews, rare photos and liner notes written by Angus Batey, the author of Rhyming and Stealing: A History Of The Beastie Boys and a writer for Hip Hop Connection and Mojo magazine.

This first pressing also comes with an exclusive photograph of Ultramagnetic Mc’s on thick cardboard. The timeless classic Critical Beatdown is available as a limited edition of 2000 individually numbered copies on yellow vinyl.



Availability: In stock


A1 – Watch Me Now
A2 – Ease Back
A3 – Ego Trippin (Original 12″ Version)
A4 – Moe Luv’s Theme
A5 – Kool Keith Housing Things
A6 – Traveling At The Speed Of Thought (Remix)
A7 – Feelin It
A8 – One Minute Less

B1 – Ain’t It Good To You
B2 – Funky (Remix)
B3 – Give The Drummer Some
B4 – Break North
B5 – Critical Beatdown
B6 – When I Burn
B7 – Ced-Gee (Delta Force One)

C1 – Funky (Original 12″ Version)
C2 – Bait (Original 12″ Version)
C3 – A Chorus Line (featuring Tim Dog) (Original 12″ Version)

D1 – Traveling At The Speed Of Thought (Hip House Club Mix)
D2 – Ego Trippin (Bonus Beats)
D3 – Mentally Mad (Original 12″ Version)



Weight 450 g


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.