Hip Hop Be Bop

Various Artists – Boombox 2 (3xVinyl LP) [Soul Jazz Records 2017] SOLD OUT!



Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 1979-83


Soul Jazz Records’ new ‘Boombox’ features some of the many innovative underground first-wave of rap records made in New York in the period 1979-82, all released on small, independent, often family-concern record companies, at a time when hip-hop music still remained under the radar.

This collection celebrates these first old-school rap records, bringing together rare, classic and obscure tracks released in the early days of rap.

Boombox 2 is a triple-vinyl set that features extensive text, exclusive interviews and stunning photography by Jamel Shabazz, Martha Cooper and others.





Out of stock

Categories: , , , ,


A1 Harlem World Crew – Let’s Rock [1980]
A2 Lonnie Love – Young Ladies [1980]
A3 Busy Bee – School Days [1981]


B1 Kool DJ AJ – Ah, That’s The Joint [1980]
B2 Little Starsky – Dancin’ Party People [1981]


C1 Eddie Cheba – Lookin’ Good [1979]
C2 MC Rock Lovely – One Time Two Time Blow Your Mind [1980]


D1 Terry Lewis & Wild Flower – The People’s Message Take Two [1983]
D2 Rapper’s Rapp Group – Rappin’ Partee Groove [1982]


E1 Margo’s Kool Out Crew – Death Rap [1980]
E2 Manujothi – Shake Your Body [1980]
E3 TJ Swann, Pee Wee Mel & Swann Controllers – Maximus Party [1980]


F1 Grand Master Chilly T & Stevie G – Rock The Message Rap [1981]
F2 Zoot II – Dr. Ice Rap [1980]

Weight 665 g