Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

Paypal payments logo

Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

life cycles cover art

Mike Flips, Nord1kopne & Seize – Life Cycles (LP) [Wienerworld RN1052]


De La Soul – Me Myself And I (7″) [Chrysalis Records RMM043]

Me Myself And I 7" reissue picture sleeve

Black Market Brass – Hox (LP/CD) [Colemine Records CLMN12055]


  • Hox A
  • Echo A.D.
  • The Pit
  • Hox B
  • A Web, A Knot, A Tangle
  • But At What Cost?
  • Æthervision
  • Little Ghosts
  • Hox C
  • S.C.C. (Surge Cell Continuum) / Hox D
  • The Rift / Hox Z / Desolation Overdrive
  • Doom Country



Black Market Brass – Hox (LP/CD) [Colemine Records CLMN12055]


For Fans Of… The Budos Band, Antibalas, The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble, Ikebe Shakedown, Menahan Street Band, El Michels Affair, Khruangbin.

Black Market Brass is proud to present Hox, due out on Colemine Records on September 8, 2023. Their third LP is a new take on afrobeat that combines traditional grooves with heavy, hypnotic, sci-fi sounds that reflect the band’s myriad of influences as record collectors across genres. “We didn’t leave the traditional afrobeat sound behind, but we did allow ourselves to pull from different places with less hesitation.” Shared saxophonist Cole Pulice.

Like their previous albums, the 9-piece band recorded Hox live to tape. “The sound and aesthetic of the analog recording process is important for this kind of music,” Pulice explained. “We’re looking to capture lightning in a bottle.” With that, the album features several sections of heavily processed synthesizers, harsh glitches, fuzzed-out guitars, and a burning percussion section that pays homage to the traditional drumming cultures of Nigeria and Ghana. The performances are dynamic and confident. The grooves are infectious and hypnotic. BMB has pushed further into musical experimentalism, but at the end of the day, they’re still making dance music.

Krautrock, free-jazz, doom metal – the inspirations for Hox stem from all kinds of musical backgrounds, but the sound is far from scattered. It’s a polished, innovative record that’s sure to exceed expectations and keep the listener engaged from start to finish.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.