Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

Paypal payments logo

Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

before the verdict album cover

Madlib – Before The Verdict (Reissue) (LP) [Madlib Invazion MMS2001] PRE-ORDER


Saukrates – Driftin’ (7″) [Love Touch Records LTR0127] PRE-ORDER

Saukrates - Driftin' 7"

Rickey Calloway – King Of Funk (LP) [Funk Night Records FNR211] PRE-ORDER


***PRE-ORDER – Expected release date 1/12/23***

  • Stay In The Groove
  • Shake It Up, Shake It Down
  • Work It
  • Come On Home
  • Shed a Tear
  • Get it Right
  • Jump Back Part 1
  • Jump Back Part 2
  • Tell Me
  • That’s On You


Rickey Calloway – King Of Funk (LP) [Funk Night Records FNR211]

***PRE-ORDER – Expected release date 1/12/23***


Prepare your turntables because Rickey Calloway is about to drop a vinyl LP that’s set to make waves in the world of funk and soul. This upcoming release entitled “King Of Funk”, meticulously remastered by Jukka Sarapää of Timmion Records, is a testament to the timeless quality of Calloway’s music.

One of the most exciting aspects of this album is the impressive lineup of backing instrumentation provided by some of the genre’s heavyweights. The Dap-Kings, Will Sessions, The Soul Surfers, and The Soul Motivators all lend their exceptional talents to create a rich and dynamic musical landscape that perfectly complements Calloway’s soulful vocals.

Rickey Calloway’s journey to cult status is nothing short of remarkable. After releasing a handful of obscure singles in the 1970s, he resurfaced in the 21st century with a series of 7″ singles on Funk Night Records and Kay Dee Records, curated by none other than Kenny Dope. His revival has been a beacon of hope for funk and soul enthusiasts, and this album promises to be the culmination of his artistic evolution.

For those who revel in the sounds of Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, Lee Fields, and Charles Bradley, this album will undoubtedly find a cherished place in your collection. Calloway’s ability to channel the spirit of these legends while infusing his unique style is a testament to his talent and dedication to the genre.

Funk Night Records takes immense pride in presenting Rickey Calloway’s first full-length LP, and rightfully so. This album is not just a musical journey; it’s a piece of history, a slice of the soulful past brought into the present. It’s a definitive must-have for all funk and soul collectors, a gem that will shine brightly in your music library. With the combined prowess of Calloway and his illustrious collaborators, this forthcoming album is destined to become a timeless classic that will keep the funk and soul alive for generations to come.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.