Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

Paypal payments logo

Hip Hop Be Bop

Hip Hop music and more

Vision Board

Lyrics Born – Vision Board (LP) [Mobile Home]


King Wellington / Frends – Shango / Mystery Music (7″) [Soundway Records]

King Wellington
I am currently on vacation and will not be able to process orders until I get back on the 26th July. You can still place orders while I'm away but the earliest date for posting will be Monday 29th July. If you have any urgent questions, feel free to email me at info@hiphopbebop.com and I'll reply as soon as I'm able.

Thank you for your patience and apologize for any inconvenience.

El Michels Affair & Black Thought – Glorious Game (LP/CD/Cassette) [Big Crown Records]


Released on Big Crown Records, Glorious Game is the debut partnership between El Michels Affair and Black Thought of The Roots.

When Leon Michels and El Michels Affair released their first record, Sounding Out The City, in 2005, it was hard to guess what was next for Michels and his then-introduced, now-patented “cinematic soul” sound. Now, four EMA studio albums and scores of tribute and remix projects later—all while producing for some of the biggest names in the industry—Michels has trademarked his sound. This time he takes his golden touch into the realm of hip-hop laying down a musical bed for one of the greatest to ever rhyme into a microphone.

Being that Black Thought is the co-founder and emcee for, hands down, the best live-band group in hip-hop. Michels took a decidedly different approach to this project and instead of sending recorded tracks of live compositions, he pulled out the sampler and sampled himself and some records from his collection. For Glorious Game, Michels would make wholly composed and recorded soul songs in his studio, sample himself, then chop and/or loop up his sounds and create instrumentals for Black Thought. On some tracks he took a more traditional hip-hop approach, starting from samples of other people’s music but then adding live instrumentation on top. But for the most part, it’s him reinterpreting his own compositions into something new.

The result is an organic feel of loop-based tracks that breathe and fluctuate enough for Black Thought to flex on. “What I write about is determined by the equation of the producer’s energy and my energy,” Black Thought says. “It’s about where we meet.” So armed with Michels sampled and re-sampled soul cinematics, Black Thought rhymes through personal memories and distinctive perspectives, all dripping with visuals.



El Michels Affair & Black Thought – Glorious Game (LP/CD/Cassette) [Big Crown Records]


  • Grateful
  • Glorious Game (feat. Kirby)
  • I’m Still Somehow
  • Hollow Way
  • Protocol (feat. Son Little)
  • The Weather
  • That Girl
  • I Would Never
  • Alone
  • Miracle
  • Glorious Game (Reprise)
  • Alter Ego (feat. Brainstory)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.