Hip Hop Be Bop


Hip Hop Be Bop

Micall Parknsun

Micall Parknsun – Still (LP/CD) [Boot Records]


Lords Of The Underground – Here Come The Lords (2xLP) [Music On Vinyl]

lords of the underground

De La Soul – Buhloone Mind State (LP/CD/Cassette) [Chrysalis]


De La Soul’s Buhloone Mind State is the group’s third album and the third in the reissue series.

There were several moments on the album which proved the band had matured. “I Be Blowin'” was a departure as the track was an instrumental featuring saxophone playing by Maceo Parker. The introspective “I Am I Be” showed De La Soul at their most self-referential to date. “Long Island Wildin'” was a collaboration with Japanese hip hop artists Kan Takagi (Major Force) and trio Scha Dara Parr (SDP).

The album’s first single, “Breakadawn”, used a sample of Michael Jackson’s “I Can’t Help It” and Smokey Robinson’s “Quiet Storm”.De La Soul collaborated for the first time with Gang Starr’s Guru on “Patti Dooke”, and female MC Shortie No Mas who was prominent on many tracks on the album and showcased particularly on “In The Woods”. The album ended with an old-school Biz Markie collaboration called “Stone Age”. The album was a critical success with Rolling Stone listing it as one of the best hip hop albums of all time.



De La Soul – Buhloone Mind State (LP/CD/Cassette) [Chrysalis]


  • Intro [CD/Cassette only]
  • Eye Patch
  • En Focus
  • Patti Dooke
  • I Be Blowin’
  • Long Island Wildin’ [CD/Cassette Only]
  • Ego Trippin’ (Part Two)
  • Paul’s Revenge [CD/Cassette Only]
  • 3 Days Later
  • Area
  • I Am I Be
  • In The Woods
  • Breakadawn
  • Dave Has A Problem… Seriously [CD/Cassette Only]
  • Stone Age


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.